Retention Policies controls how Centrestack manage revisions, deleted files, and system logs. They can be defined in Cluster level (Default Group Policy), Tenant Level (Group Policy) and Team Folder level (if supported).
- Group Policy
Retention Policy can be defined in Cluster Default Group Policy. When defined in Cluster level, it applies to all tenants.
Each tenants can define it's own Retention Policy, which overwrites the Cluster Settings.
- Keep last n version(s) of files in versioned folder: It defines how many revisions Centrestack will remain for a file. When leave it as 0, by default, Centrestack keeps 30 revisions.
- Only purge versioned files that are more than n day(s) old: If the setting is defined, when the number of revisions hits the value defined in 1, Centrestack will check whether the revision is old enough to be purged. If the revision hasn't hit the age defined here, it will remain. Thus the number of versions can be more than the allowed versions defined in 1, when this setting is defined.
- Purge previous versions that are more than n day(s) old: When the setting is defined, Centrstack will check each revisions age. If it has reached the define time here, it will be purged. It will ignore the number of versions to keep defined in 1.
- Keep deleted files in versioned folder and/or Trash Can for n day(s): It defines how long Centrestack will keep deleted files in the backend storage. When a file is deleted, it still remains in Centrestack in backend. User can restore it if needed. When the deleted files reaches the number of days defined here, Centrestack will purge it. After the file is purged, cannot restore it anymore.
- Keep file change log for n day(s): File change logs are stored in the database. The setting defines how long to keep the change logs from DB.
- Keep audit trace for n day(s): Audit trace tracks system activities, including login activities, creating/deleting share, etc. It is stored in DB too. The setting defined how long to keep the audit trace in the DB.
- Hide purge option from web file browser: When it is checked, user will not see Purge Deleted File options from web portal. The setting only applies to Sub users. It always shows for tenant admin
- Don't send email notification when purging deleted content: When a versioned folder is deleted, it remains in backend until it reaches 'Purge previous versions that are more than n day(s) old'. Before it will be purged, a reminder email will send to the tenant admin, in case the admin still wants to keep the folder. Enable the setting will prevent Centrestack from sending the email.
- Include deleted but not yet purged items in storage quota: By default, when Centrestack scans the backend storage, it doesn't count the deleted items in the tenant quota. When check the setting here, deleted items will be added to the tenant quota.
- Team Folder:
When a team folder is versioned, admin can define team folder's own retention policy. On web portal, admin can right click the team folder and select 'Manage Folder'. Go to Settings, Quota and Retention Policy. Here, the retention policies applies to the team folder only.
Please sign in to leave a comment.